Distinguished Service Award

Main Content

The Distinguished Service Award should be reserved for persons who have contributed importantly to Southern Illinois, to the nation, to the world, to the State, and/or to the University. No University employee shall be considered for a Distinguished Service Award in the year of his or her retirement; however, this does not preclude the consideration of an exceptionally qualified employee for an Award at a time either before or after the year of his retirement.

Nomination deadline for 2022 awards was Wednesday, October 20, 2021.

For nomination guidelines and contact information for the Distinguished Service Awards, please go view the Nomination Guidelines and Deadlines.

View a list of previous recipients.

Congratulations to the 2022 Distinguished Service Award winners!

Carolyn Taft Grosboll

John S. Jackson III

Thelma Mothershed-Wair

More information about the 2022 winners can be found here.