Faculty and Staff Lounge

Main Content

Old Main Faculty and Staff Lounge

SIU Faculty and Staff Lounge

In response to feedback from campus, Chancellor Austin A. Lane opened the Faculty and Staff Lounge on September 9, 2021. The Faculty and Staff Lounge, located in the Old Main room on the second floor of the Student Center, will be open for all campus faculty and staff from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays (with some exceptions due to previously scheduled events). A series of hosts, speakers, and events is being planned for the space.

Employees are encouraged to use the Faculty and Staff Lounge as a place to connect with one another and learn more about campus. Employees who wish to have lunch in the lounge may purchase food from the restaurants on the first floor or bring their own.

The Faculty and Staff Lounge was made possible by a donation from the SIU Foundation.

October Events at the Faculty and Staff Lounge

  • Friday, 10/1/21 - CLOSED for previously scheduled event
  • Monday, 10/4/21 - Open Lunch with host, Jenise Wilson, Director of Undergraduate Advisement
  • Wednesday, 10/6/21 - Open Lunch
  • Friday, 10/8/21 - Open Lunch
  • Monday, 10/11/21 - Homecoming Kickoff in the Faner Plaza - with free food
  • Wednesday, 10/13/21 - Open Lunch with hosts Eric Brevik, Dean of the College of Agricultural, Life, and Physical Sciences and Camille Davidson, Dean of the School of Law
  • Friday, 10/15/21 - CLOSED for previously scheduled event
  • Monday, 10/18/21 - Open Lunch
  • Wednesday, 10/20/21 - Open Lunch with host John Pollitz, Dean of Library Affairs
  • Friday, 10/22/21 - Open Lunch with free craft from the Student Center Craft Shop. All supplies provided to make your own Alcohol Ink Coaster.
  • Monday, 10/25/21 - Open Lunch with host Xiaoqing "Frank" Liu, Dean of the College of Engineering, Computing, Technology, and Mathematics
  • Wednesday, 10/27/21 - CLOSED for previously scheduled event
  • Friday, 10/29/21 - CLOSED for previously scheduled event

 All sessions are casual and intended for you to come and go as you are able. Hosts listed will be available for networking, questions, or (when noted) to facilitate activities.

November Events at the Faculty and Staff Lounge

  • Monday, Nov. 1 - Black Staff and Faculty Professional Development series
  • Wednesday, Nov. 3 - Open lunch with hosts Jerry Kruse, Dean & Provost of the School of Medicine, and Andrew Balkansky, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts
  • Friday, Nov. 5 - CLOSED for a previously scheduled event
  • Monday, Nov. 8 - Open lunch with hosts Terry Clark, Dean of the College of Business and Analytics, and Segun Ojewuyi, Dean of the College of Arts and Media
  • Wednesday, Nov. 10 - Open lunch
  • Friday, Nov. 12 - Open lunch Performances by Musical Theater students have been postponed until Spring 2022, due to the Salukis Care day.
  • Monday, Nov. 15 - CLOSED for a previously scheduled event
  • Wednesday, Nov. 17 - Open lunch with hosts Cecil Smith, Dean of the School of Education, and Robert Morgan, Dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences
  • Friday, Nov. 19 - Open lunch *host Cindy Stein, Saluki women’s basketball coach, has been postponed until spring 2022
  • Monday, Nov. 22 - Open lunch
  • Wednesday, Nov. 24 - Open lunch
  • Friday, Nov. 26 - CLOSED for Thanksgiving holiday
  • Monday, Nov. 29 - Open lunch
  • Wednesday, Dec. 1 - A/P Staff Council Constituency luncheon